Good Grief! It’s been a while.

I had promised myself I’d keep up with blogging every 2 weeks or so. Well, I’m waaaay past that, but here I am again. And a lot has happened since I last connected with you.  I love flower gardening and have been getting the various gardens in order. Also have had several booksignings since I last blogged. Have been in bookstores, bakeries and my latest was at a new restaurant about an hour away. I had great–no fantastic–newspaper coverage.  The restaurant’s owner had cookies baked for me to hand out with each book sold. I met some great people and very enthusiastic readers. Was lots of fun! Also went to CTRWA  Fiction Festival( that’s a writing chapter in CT and the festival combined workshops and special author guest speakers. I gained some new friends,  learned a bunch re: promo and writing, and it was well worth the trip to CT. I also got to visit with my granddaughters and that even more special. Am doing a booksigning at the Sulphur Springs Festival in Clifton Springs, NY on June 2nd outside the local bookstore and will be joined by an author who writes  Children’s Books. What a combination right?  One Historical Romance writer and a Children’s Author–got to love it.

Enough about me, so we’ll go for another recipe from Morgan. Since it’s the season for Rhubarb, I figured today would be good for what was simply called Rhubarb Dessert. Rather than make it complicated with all the ingreds. from the 1800’s for a standard yellow cake, I’ve decided to leave it up to you. If you have a good recipe for a yellow cake, use that and if not, just make it simple and use a yellow cake mix of your choice.

Rhubarb Dessert

COVER bottome of a 13″ baking pan with rhubarb cut in small pices. ADD one  3 oz. pkg. of strawberries( approx. 1/2 cup or maybe a bit more) mixed with 1 cup of sugar.

SPRINKLE pkg. of yellow cake mix(or your favorite cake mix recipe) over rhubarb mixture.

POUR 1 & 1/2 cups water and 1 & 1/2 sticks of margarine(melted) over all of it.                                                                                                                     BAKE at 325′ for about 40 minutes.                                                       SERVE warm or cold–cut into squares when slightly cooled and pour clotted cream over, top with whipped cream or ice cream.  Guess you could use anything you wanted.  Can also be cooled and cut into squares for later and fancied up with a dollop of vanilla frosting made with cream so as not too sweet, but is fluffy and light.

I just love these recipes that call for just plunking down ingredients and covering with water, etc. and baking.  Sweet, short and simple, yet OH so delicious.  Hope you enjoy this delight–of course Morgan served it cold from her bake shop with or without frosting. Customers could take the delectable squares home in a box and heat them if they wanted to top with cream.

Until next time–and I promise I’ll be more diligent. I may even figure out how to add a picture to this blog if I’m lucky.  Thanks for joining my site again, and happy eatting. One last thing–if anyone is trying the Apple Puddin” Recipe I’d previously blogged, please remember to use a DEEP dish to bake it it as that one does raise  a bit and it could overflow as my friend Vicki let me know. I apologize for not including that in the recipe when I wrote it–I’ve just always made it in a deep dish. So sorry Vicki.  Wishing all of you well.

Always, Bev

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

