Great News and an Apple Puddin’ recipe

Hi, I said I’d be back after I’d visited the bakery in my hometown. Well, let me tell you, I’m excited.  On March 3rd I’ll be doing a hometown booksigning for Only When the Loon Sings, my Historical Romance through The Wild Rose Press. I frequented the The Crystal City Bakery for years as a young girl and since then, every time I’ve gone back to that city(quite often over the past years), I’ve stopped in for one of their famous eclairs or their cold quarter sheet pizza–it’s to die for.

The manager and owner were very receptive. And the bakers–well they are going to bake Loon-shaped cookies for me to give out with each book sold. How cool is that? I love it! I’m hoping to see many past school friends and more. So again, please wish me well.

Now for the recipe I promised.  Morgan(my heroine) had a special love for ooey-gooey pastries.  And she made it in square tins and sold it as a whole(customers would have to return the pan) or she cut it into pieces and boxed them up. Apple Puddin’ was one of Morgan’s favorites–it’s easier than making a pie and more simple than a cake.

APPLE PUDDIN’

Ingreds. for dough:

1 cup flour    1/2 cup sugar   1/2cup milk   2 tsp. baking powder   pinch of salt   1 cup diced apples(she added a bit more)

Ingreds. for syrup:

1 cup brown sugar   2 cups water    2 Tbl. butter   Boil 5 minutes but do not stir

Mix up batter and pour into pan.   Pour syrup over batter.  Bake for 45minutes @ 350′  It’s simply a delicious gooey pie/puddin’.

Serve with:

Pour cream over; plop a dollop of whipped cream on top, or better yet, top with a scoop of ice cream. OMG is it yummy!  Enjoy.

I hope you enjoy this reciepe, because I have a lot more coming in the future. This reciepe really does date bake to the 1800’s–one of my husband’s great grandma’s.

Oh did I tell you that I have a booksigning in my town on March 17th at the local bookstore. That ought to be a lot of fun too! Plus I’ve had  a lot of positive feedback for my book. Yahoo!

So until next time–I hope in a 2 to 3 weeks, I’ll have another old-fashion recipe that’s quick and simple, yet mouth-watering. Take care till then and happy reading.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

